List of federal, state and local officials and their terms of office

Here is a list of federal, state and local officials for Northumberland County, Virginia — when they were elected and when they face re-election.

This document is in PDF format — click on the link and the document will open in Adobe Acrobat Reader.

fed state county officials elections terms


JUNE 21, 2022:  Congressional Primary; Republican and Democratic voters in Virginia Congressional District 1 will select candidates for the November 8, 2022, General Election.  UPDATE:  For the Nov 8, 2022, election Republican Rob Wittman has filed to run for re-election; Democrat Herb Jones has filed to challenge Wittman; no one else has filed:  NO PRIMARY WILL BE HELD ON JUNE 21.

NOVEMBER 8, 2022:  Congressional Election:  Incumbent Republican Rob Wittman, challenger Democrat Herb Jones.

JUNE 13, 2023:  Primary if needed.

NOVEMBER 7, 2023:  General Election:

  • Virginia State Senate (40 seats); Northumberland County is in Senate District 25
  • Virginia House of Delegates (100 seats):  Northumberland County is in HOD District 67.
  • Soil and Water Directors (two seats)
  • Constitutional Officers:  Clerk of the Court; Sheriff; Treasurer; Commissioner of Revenue; Commonwealth’s Attorney.
  • Supervisor, School Board:  Districts 1, 4, 5.